Crane Tours

Sandhill cranes roost on a sandbar of the Wisconsin River.

Crane Congregations

Leopold would marvel today at the spectacle of the sandhill cranes. Their pre-migration gathering each fall on the Wisconsin River’s sandbars and islands just behind his beloved Shack is captivating. During his lifetime, Leopold noted their diminishing population and feared they would succumb to extinction. However, since their resurgence, the Aldo Leopold Shack and Farm has become the region’s premier vantage point to experience the incredible sights and sounds as the cranes congregate by the thousands before commencing their annual southerly journey.

Take a sneak peek of Crane Congregations and hear what folks are saying!

Join us each fall for an unforgettable experience and learn first hand why Aldo Leopold felt these birds were so majestic. Your participation in programs like Crane Congregations helps the foundation foster care for people, land, and communities through Leopold’s legacy.

For more on the ritual and history of cranes in the area, read Dr. Stan Temple’s blog article What Do You Call a Group of 10,000 Cranes? 

Viewing Opportunities

Crane tours are offered each fall and draw nature lovers, bird enthusiasts, and photographers from near and far. Several tour options will be available for the 2018 season.

TOUR DESCRIPTIONS

2018 Program Dates

Register by clicking the links below.
*Starred dates to not include reception or lecture

Thursday, November 15 – Sold Out 
Friday, November 16 – Sold Out
*Tuesday, November 27 – Sold Out
*Wednesday, November 28 – Sold Out
Friday, November 30 – Sold Out 
Saturday, December 1 – Sold Out 
Sunday, December 2
*Tuesday, December 4 – Sold Out 
*Wednesday, December 5 – Sold Out
Friday, December 7 – Sold Out 
Saturday, December 8 – Sold Out
Sunday, December 9 – Sold Out
Thursday, December 13
Friday, December 14
Saturday, December 15 – Sold Out


Feature photo, top, by Greg Dixon © 2017 gregdixonphoto.com